I Am The Anime Kid

1329776510197

 

 

If I’m going to make another introduction post then I’m sticking with my guns on the header picture. Yes I used it in my introduction for Dexu Ex Machina and yes I do realize it’s an old, outdated picture. But I use it for two reasons:

1. It’s the closest animated representation of myself (appearance-wise that is. I sadly cannot turn water to wine or walk on it for that matter)

2. I still think it’s funny

Secret Answer 3. Because fuck you

 

So I’m not going to go into the way I got into anime and anything of that nature. If you want a quick rundown of that you can read my bio paragraph. I’m here to tell you more about what I plan to do with this blog, and why I made it in the first place. I started this blog because I recently got the itch to start writing again. I started watching different shows recently, like Precure for example, and wanted an outlet to express my thoughts on those shows and other topics I have floating around my head. But I didn’t want to go back to joining a preexisting blog again. I appreciate the people who gave me the opportunity to write for them on their own sites, but I wanted something to call my own. I felt that if I was on someone else’s blog that I needed to churn out posts constantly in order to make it look like I was brought on for a reason. It almost felt too much like work. I know that the people I wrote for didn’t feel that way and probably wanted me to write posts at my own pace; I just felt like I needed to be as productive as possible for them to repay them for being kind enough to be apart of something that was their’s to begin with. That’s why I made The Anime Kid.

Now why The Anime Kid? The reason pertains to my other passion: Rush. For those of you who follow me on Twitter, or who recognize my avatar, I am an avid Rush fan. If there is one thing in this world I adore more than anime, it’s that rock trio from Canada. I spent a whole day trying to think of a title for this blog that implements my interest  in both anime and Rush. The title went through many different drafts: Permanent Waifus (Permanent Waves), Power Weaboos (Power Windows), and other more horrible sounding names that I tried to come up with that used the title The Temples of Syrinx. It wasn’t until I was driving around with a group of friends in my car as we listened to The Analog Kid that one of them made a joke about how much anime I watch all the time and called me “The Anime Kid”. I knew then that that’s what I wanted to title this blog. It just fit so well with me.

My plans for this blog are pretty simple. I’m going to write whatever comes to mind. I have a couple weekly posts that I want to do. One is brand new, the other is an old favorite. I will get to those very, very soon. I may or may not get back into weekly blogging shows. I enjoyed it when the show I was watching had substance to it like when I blogged Gatchaman Crowds rather than when I attempted to blog Tamako Market which was your typical  moeblob with a few interesting elements sprinkled in. I suppose that will be more of a spur of the moment decision. I’ll throw in some reviews here and there, maybe some list type posts where I rattle off some of my favorite things because those are stupidly easy to write and I enjoy talking about things I love in anime like everyone else. And as the blog progresses I hope to add even more to it.

I think that about covers everything. Just to kind of wrap things up I just want to say that I’m glad to be back in the aniblogsphere and writing again. I missed it. And I hope that those of you reading this now will look forward to reading what I write. Or you can trash it and tell me how shitty my writing/taste in anime is. I’ll take either or really.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Introduction, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Welcome back to writing, from a fellow anime and Rush fan! Best of luck to you with the new blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

