The Return of Anime Power Rankings

20140104_mushishi03

And just in time for Spring 2014, the greatest season of anime to grace us in years.

 

For those of you who are unfamiliar with what Anime Power Rankings is, let me give you a quick rundown. APR is a project that kevo from Anime Maru started on his old blog Desu Ex Machina almostĀ 3 years ago. The basic premise is that every week anime bloggers vote on what their top five favorite shows were from each week. Those are sent off in an email, tallied up with each #1 spot getting 5 points, the #2 spot getting 4 points, and so on. Once all the points are counted the show with the most points gets the #1 spot for that week in APR. A post is then made showing off the top five shows of that week along with shows that just missed the top five which then take the six through ten spots, or as it was referred to as “on the cusp”. A post is then made, people come and look at it, and then discuss why the top five is awful and defend why their favorite show from that week should have made the list.

Well as most of you are aware, kevo decided to end that project of his and move on to other things. And I was sad to see it go. I remember watching the third episode of Nisekoi and thinking to myself, “Man, if APR were still around, I would totally put this in my top five.” It’s because of that feeling I had that I approached kevo about bringing it back. I enjoyed voting on shows each week and seeing anime bloggers come together in mass discussion and either berate or defend one another over their taste in anime. It was fun to say the least. So that’s why I’m bringing it back from the dead. Not because I want it back so dearly, but for those of you out there that enjoyed it just as much as I did every week.

Now, for those of you who were active (and by active I mean still had an active blog and receiving emails every week) before APR ended, you will be receiving an email from me giving you a more details for what is to come. And for any of you reading this who do have an active anime blog and would like to join the APR family, or if you were a part of APR and your email has changed, please drop me an email at animepowerrankings[at]gmail[dot]com. I look forward to hearing from you all soon.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on March 28, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

