Anime Power Rankings: Spring 2014 Week 4

Rank Anime (First Place Votes) Studio Episode Change
1 Mushishi Zoku Shou (9) Artland 4
1 Ping Pong: The Animation (7) Tatsunoko Productions 3
3 Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders (1) David Production 4 2
4 Isshuukan Friends (1) Brains Base 3 1
5 Sidonia no Kishi (3) Polygon Pictures 3 19

On the Cusp: Mekaku City Actors (3), No Game, No Life (4), Love Live: School Idol Project Season 2 (1), Captain Earth (0), Nisekoi (1)

 

I want to start off and say thank you for everyone’s patience on APR this past week. I had an incredibly busy schedule and losing my internet on Monday and Tuesday did not help either. Anime Power Rankings will return to its regular schedule for this week.

So I had to double and triple check the votes this week. Why? Because for the third straight week in a row we have two shows sharing the number 1 spot. I’m starting to believe that all of the voters are all coming together in some sort of coalition and strategically placing shows on their ballots so that way they end up in certain positions on APR. If this happens again next week, then I’ll know for sure something is up. You guys can’t fool me.

On a more interesting note, we have one show crashing the APR party and making its first appearance in the APR top five. Sidonia no Kishi was sitting way down at number twenty-four last week. This week it shoots up nineteen spots to the number five spot. I’ve heard really good things about the source material for Sidonia no Kishi. The thing holding me back from watching it is the CG. However, if Sidonia no Kishi makes it’s way back into the top five next week, I may go ahead and pick it up.

 

Knights of Sidonia (Sidonia no Kishi) is turning out to be the best anime currently airing that’s not named Hunter x Hunter.

Steelbound (The Null Set)

If Ping Pong hit it out of the park last week, this week is a grand slam (I hope that makes sense, I can’t sports metaphors). The match between Smile and Wenge is definitely in my top 5 Yuasa scenes ever; literally everything about it is perfect. Everybody else can just go home, because anime is saved.

Chronolynx (THAT Anime Blog)

Yes I know that Puchimas doesn’t officially count for this, but I’m using it to make a point that out of all of the shows that people wanted me to watch, the one that happens to be a sequel of a show I never watched that is a spinoff of a show I never finished is one of the best shows I’m watching. With friends like this, etc.

Emperor J (Lower Mid-Table)

Short post this week because I have finals coming up and have to be a responsible student and study. But as always thank you to everyone who voted this week! Looking forward to seeing if we can get two number one shows four weeks in a row.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Spring. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I actually liked how we had more time to post this week (since I usually have work until Sunday evening and can’t get my thoughts together in time for the deadline earlier) so if you just want to push back the deadline that’d be cool, I don’t mind the post being a day or two later either!

  2. Nisekoi got an honorable mention! It’s not the best show ever, but it’s charming, and it gladdens my heart to see that it has not been forgotten.

Leave a Reply

