Anime Power Rankings: Spring 2014 Week 5

Rank Anime (First Place Votes) Studio Episode Change
1 Ping Pong: The Animation (7) Tatsunoko Productions 4
2 Mushishi Zoku Shou (8) Artland 5 1
3 Isshuukan Friends (4) Brains Base 4 1
4 Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders (3) David Production 5 1
4 Sidonia no Kishi (1) Polygon Pictures 5 1

On the Cusp: No Game, No Life (3), Love Live: School Idol Project Season 2 (3), Gochuumon wa Usagi Desuka? (2), Haikyuu!! (1), Nisekoi (1)

I’m glad to see that you guys didn’t force another tie for first place this week. Ping Pong was the clear favorite over Mushishi which both had really solid episodes. However, you guys decided to force a tie for fourth place between Jojo’s and Knights of Sidonia. So as a man of my word, I will be picking up Knights of Sidonia this week since it made it into the top 5 for the second straight week.

So I haven’t said a single thing about Isshuukan Friends since the start of APR even though it has been in the top 5 every week that it has aired. Isshuukan Friends has been a very enjoyable show thus far. While the whole premise seems incredibly far- fetched to me, the atmosphere and character interactions is what keeps the show going for me. It’s sweet, charming, and has enough going for it to still keep it fresh and interesting  every week. I also really like the art style of the series. It reminds me a lot of Usagi Drop and the way the characters in that show looked. It’s a really great show and definitely deserves to be in the top 5 each week.

Lastly(and I only bring this up because I love the show dearly) Love Live received a lot of praise this week. The show did not receive a vote lower than second on every ballot it was on this week. I really hope that it can land inside the top 5 before the end of the season because I really like the direction the show has taken so far with putting even more focus on the characters. Love Live is great and everyone should watch it.

This episode of Love Live was a good example of humor and dramatic moments being put together in a way such that one doesn’t overwhelm or undermine the other. The episode incorporated some very funny moments like Honoka’s extremely realistic dream about the results of the Love Live prelims and the antics of the younger Yazawas (all voiced by the same person!), especially Kokoro’s personal take on “NICO NICO NIIIIIII”. These moments were combined with a few more serious moments where the members of µ’s had to confront Nico’s family situation and what she needed from them as well as what they needed from her. The ultimate resolution was one that fit well with the overall tone of Love Live as it allowed Nico to save face in front of her family while also giving the other members of µ’s their due. There were a few subtle touches I liked this week such as the change from Nico being in the center of the pop up game when it first appears and then later on seeing Honoka in her proper position as the center of the group. Overall, a really nice character episode from Love Live and a fitting follow-up to last week’s performance episode.

Kelloggs (Pendantic Perspective)

I’m worried about JoJo’s pacing at this point, but the episodes have not stopped being incredibly entertaining, the fight and poses this week was out of this world. I’m also happy to see Love Live! start with more character focused episodes. Akuma no Riddle has shown that it can actually tell more than one story over and over again about assassin’s chasing after one girl, which is good for its longevity.

Tobiichi Karlsson (Just Another Anime Podcast)

This is why APR is a great thing to have around. Ordinarily I would never have given Ping Pong a second thought, as a sports anime with an art style that looks like it came out of a drunk’s sketchbook. But after it spent so many weeks hanging out in the top spot of the rankings, I decided to see what the fuss was about and it turns out it’s somehow amazing?!? I have to give my #1 vote to No Game No Life this week for the “I heart Humanity” tee-shirt, but I wish I had been watching Ping Pong all along so I could have been voting it #1 in all the previous weeks.

Sun Tzu (Sun Tzu Anime Blog)

And the winner this week for the best APR ballot goes to:

1. Peco Cries at the End (Ping Pong the Animation)

2. “You’re not meeeeee!” (Mushishi Zoku Shou)

3. Space Titanic 3D (Knights of Sidonia)

4. Polnareff’s Impossible Pose (JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure)

5. Diary of a Sort of Mad and Forgetful Woman (Isshuukan Friends)

Appropriant (Perpetual Morning)

Thanks to everyone who sent in their APR ballots this week. Maybe next week we won’t have a tie. Maybe we will have an actual 1-5 for APR. We’ll just have to wait and see won’t we.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on May 4, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Spring. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve seen a few people make the comparison between Isshuukan Friends and Usagi Drop in terms of its artwork, and I can sort of see why, although I’m personally reminded more of Saikano than anything else. (Which is a little unfortunate given the issues I remember having with Saikano – that had very little to do with the artwork – but I won’t hold that against the insanely adorable Isshuukan Friends.)

  2. You’re goddamn right I won best ballot.

  1. Pingback: Kelloggs’ Anime Power Rankings: Spring 2014 Week 5 | Pedantic Perspective

Leave a Reply

