Anime Power Rankings Spring 2014 Week 7

Rank Anime (First Place Votes) Studio Episode Change
1 Ping Pong: The Animation (8) Tatsunoko Productions 6 2
2 No Game No Life (4) Madhouse 6 6
3 Issuhuukan Friends (2) Brains Base 6 1
3 Love Live: School Idol Project Season 2 (3) Sunrise 6 2
4 Sidonia no Kishi (2) Polygon Pictures 6 2

On the Cusp: Akuma no Riddle (1), Selector Infected WIXOSS (2), Haikyuu!! (1), Hitsugi no Chaika (1), Mekaku City Actors (1)

Due to the fact that my weekends have gotten way busier than I anticipated they would, I will be extending the deadline for APR to Mondays at 8 PM EST rather than Sunday. Shows eligible for each week on APR will stay at everything that airs until Saturday for the Spring season. Once the Summer season starts that will switch to Sunday. I will go more in depth with this change once we get closer towards the end of the Spring season.

I never anticipated that Mushishi not being on this week’s ballot would shake up APR as much as it did. There were some incredibly surprising outcomes after tallying all the votes. First and foremost, let’s start with No Game No Life. No Game No Life shoots up six spots to reach it’s highest rank on APR this season at number two. And I feel it is well deserved. While this latest episode had some good comedy and other more tantalizing moments, the ending to episode six was astounding. The battle of wits between Sora and Jibril in a game of Materialization Shitori is hands down one of the best moments of the season so far. This is exactly what I wanted out of this show. I’ve been anticipating a truly captivating game between two characters and we have finally gotten what I hope is the first of many to come.

However, the most surprising outcome from this week in APR is that Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure dropped not only out of the five, but out of the top ten entirely. It was one of the lowest voted shows this week only receiving two votes. It ranked lower than Baby Steps, Date a Live 2, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, Gochuumon wa Usagi Desuka?, Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin, and Yowamushi Pedal. There were only eight other shows that either tied with Jojo’s or received a lower score. To be honest I actually enjoyed this latest episode with the Stand user being an orangutan dressed in a captain’s uniform, smoking, and reading nudie magazines. What’s not to like about that? According to all of you, the voters, quite a bit. I would be surprised if Jojo’s stays off of APR for a second straight week.

 

NGNL’s sixth episode encapsulated everything I wanted from this stupid show and then some. It’s a shame that the show will never do what I truly want out of anime in general, given my overwhelming favor towards shows like Mushishi and Ping Pong, but when it comes to what NGNL can do well, it can do it with goddamn style. Surely there’s more ways for this show to emulate that same feeling I felt when watched this episode. I feel like we’re just getting started with how stupid, off-color, and entertaining this show can truly get.

Appropriant (Perpetual Morning)

With really only 8 shows this week to watch, I was kind of underwhelmed by everything after an spectacle-filled episode of No Game No Life.

Emperor J (Lower Mid-Table)

Due to a vacation preventing me from voting last week, I blame myself for Sidonia no Kishi not making the top 5 last week. To help rectify that I was all set to vote for it as my number 1 this week when Ping Pong delivered the best episode so far of all anime series eligible for APR this season and it would be criminal not to vote for it and for Wenge, his Mom, and the wontons.

steelbound (The Null Set)

Love Live! is knocking it out of the park! It gives you exactly what you wanted, when you didn’t know you wanted it. Plus, using actual copies of KISS outfits, not generic makeup style, is a big point. So much fun to watch, so much fun to look forward to, and still bringing great music.

Highway (Metanorn)

Headphone Actors performed for our OP for this sixth episode of Mekaku City Actors was only one of the many excellent moments this cheery and fun episode.

Tristan (Population Go)

 

43526696

I forgot that we used to put cool pictures of anime on APR at the bottom of each post. So I’m going to start doing that from now now.

Thank you to everyone who submitted their APR ballots this week.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on May 22, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Spring. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. No praise for Chaika recording a second straight week in the top 10? That’s cold man…real cold…

  2. Tears in my eyes.

    I never thought you guys finally would have some taste. All these weeks, and now finally a glimmer of hope.

    Now if only you guys would stop voting for that shitty Chaika show the APR would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

