Anime Power Rankings: Spring 2014 Week 10

Rank Anime (First Place Votes) Studio Episode Change
1 Ping Pong: The Animation (4) Tatsunoko Productions 9
2 Mushishi Zoku Shou (4) Artland 8
3 Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders (1) David Production 10
3 No Game No Life (2) Madhouse 9 1
3 Isshuukan Friends (1) Brains Base 9 1

On the Cusp: Akuma no Riddle  (2),  Love Live: School Idol Project Season 2 (2),  Sidonia no Kishi  (0),  Haikyuu!! (2), Hitsugi no Chaika  (1)

Soooooooooo I may or may not have written about Love Live episode nine last week when I was supposed to talk about episode eight. Forget that I did that. Take everything I said about it last week and put it onto this post. Kay? Kay.

You guys are making these APR posts hard to write because really the most change that happens each week is in the bottom five. The top five has just been dominated week to week by practically the same five shows with a small variation here and there with either Love Live, Sidonia no Kishi, and one instance of Haikyuu!!. But I can’t really disagree with it. Ping Pong, Mushishi, Jojo’s, No Game No Life, and Isshuukan Friends are, in my opinion, the best five shows this season.

 

selector infected WIXOSS is currently one of the best shows of the season. It hasn’t always been, and there’s no guarantee it’ll stay that way, but right now it is. Let’s pray there isn’t a Miuna-worthy collapse in the second four.

iblessall (Life, and Anime)

CAEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESAR! …oh wait, wrong guy

Frog-kun (Fantastic Memes)

Really solid episode of GochiUsa this week, especially the second half. Even if you ignore the fact that she’s voiced by the wonderful Hayami Saori, Aoyama is a delightful character and watching her trying to find her calling in life. The episode held together much better than last week’s despite having two distinct storylines. A lot of this was due to how well integrated the stories were but also because they shared a common theme of finding yourself, first with Rize/Roze trying to be ladylike and then the aforementioned Aoyama arc. I was also really impressed with how they were able to take the patently absurd Tippy situation and actually get some emotional mileage out of it via Aoyama’s desire to meet Chino’s grandfather again. The whole thing is very silly but the characters still feel human which is a large reason for the show’s success. As a stand out offering within a genre I love, GochiUsa takes the top spot this week.

Kelloggs (Pedantic Perspective)

I’m not sure the game they played in No Game No Life will hold up to strict scrutiny, but at least it was dramatic, which was more than you can really say for these preliminary rounds of Ping Pong.

Sun Tzu (Sun Tzu Anime)

This will mark the first time that Isshuukan Friends doesn’t make it to my top five, and for a particular reason I’ve been hesitant to face until now: I don’t like the romance between the main couple. And when this anime ends up being about said romance, it’s hard to sit still and watch the last few episodes, which basically only exist to showcase this relationship. What do I mean by showcase? Well, it’s certainly a better word to use than “develop”, because despite Hase and Fujimiya apparently acknowledging each others’ feelings the show doesn’t justify their fear of being in a romantic relationship outside of “im so youthful nipponjin and nervous uguu~”, and that’s painful to sit through episode by episode. And now with this new development going through and shaking things back down to square one between them, is it any wonder that my time spent watching the last four or so episodes feels wasted as a result of this? Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that the story has finally come back to Fujimiya’s past and I’ll still be watching because I’m a sucker for delicious moe tears. It’s just a shame that it took so long for this to happen.

MEANWHILE MUSHISHI IS BAAAAAACK

PECO KENZAN

AVDOL NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

appropriant (Perpetual Morning)

nofucksgiven
Short post this week. I’ve been dealing with a ton of stuff in my personal life these past few days which has kept me from doing anything else. I can’t thank you guys enough for being patient with me each week as I try to get these posts up in a timely fashion. It means a lot to me.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on June 13, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Spring. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Pssshhhh someone thinks WIXOSS is good.

Leave a Reply

