Anime Power Rankings: Spring 2014 Week 13

Rank Anime (First Place Votes) Studio Episode Change
1 Isshuukan Friends (2) Brains Base 12 4
2 No Game No Life (2) Madhouse 12 2
3 Sidonia no Kishi (3) Polygon Pictures 12 4
4 Hitsugi no Chaika (1) Bones 12 8
5 Haikyuu!! (1) Production I.G. 12 4

On the Cusp: Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders (2), Mekaku City Actors (0), Love Live: School Idol Project Season 2 (1), Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushi (1), Gochuumon wa Usagi Desuka? (0)

 

As the Spring season draws to a close, and the more popular shows from the season have also ended, some shows sitting on the cusp for weeks get one last opportunity to sit in the top five on APR. Sidonia no Kishi, which hasn’t been in the top five since week seven, finishes at number three for it’s finale, No Game No Life ends at number two, Isshuukan Friends becomes the last number one show for the Spring season, Hitsugi no Chaika earns it’s first, and last, spot on the APR top five at number four, and last but not least, Haikyuu!! rounds out the top five at number five.

I feel the only surprising outcome for the final week was seeing Love Live not make the top five. The low voter count this week definitely explains it but it’s still very odd seeing how people talk about that show like it’s the best damn thing since sliced bread. My thoughts on Love Live are a bit lopsided. After finishing the first season I absolutely fell in love with the series. But something about the second season left me feeling a bit unsatisfied. A lot of the melodrama made the show a bit unbearable to watch at times and were only offset by it’s comedy and character interactions like them imitating each other on the school rooftop or Honoka and Hanayo trying to stay on a diet. Overall the show was fun to watch, but left me feeling a bit disappointed. Maybe the movie will change my view on the series once that gets released two years from now.

I would go into how I felt about the ending to Isshuukan Friends and how my expectations for that show were killed off faster than the USA’s hopes of beating Belgium in extra time after only give a one minute extension, but I won’t because I don’t want to end on a sour note. I want to end the Spring 2014 APR on a a good one. Spring 2014 was a great season of anime. We got to see an old favorite in Mushishi, experienced new series like Ping Pong: The Animation, Sidonia no Kishi, No Game No Life, etc. and watched how they held up week to week. But most importantly, I believe that most of us out there found a new favorite show out of the Spring 2014 season.

Or I could just be bullshitting and most of you despised this season and couldn’t wait to see it end. Either way we came out clean on the other side and have an exciting Summer season of anime to look forward to. I look forward to seeing how you guys vote on each show in the months to come.

 

Bring on the Summer shows now.

Emperor J (Lower Mid-Table)

NGNL GAME RANKINGS

GOD TIER
1. Garry’s Mod Shiritori (Episode 6)

GOOD TIER
ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

OKAY TIER
2. Existential Reversi (Episode 9)
3. Moe Moe Kyun~ FPS (Episode 11-12)
4. Wizard’s Chess (Episode 3-4)

UH, OKAY TIER
5. Coin Toss (Episode 12)

NO PLEASE TIER
6. Poker (Episode 1)
7. Every Game Designed to Humiliate Steph (Episode 2, 5)

THIS ANIME IS A SHIT AND YOU SHOULD FEEL A SHIT.

appropriant (Perpetual Morning)

It seems a lot of people – myself included – think that Isshuukan Friends really dropped the ball in its later episodes. While I can’t shake the feeling that it definitely promised a lot more in its first few handful of episodes than it actually delivers as an overall series, I find I’m not dissatisfied with the finale as it stands on its own. At any rate, Isshuukan Friends certainly wasn’t the most disappointing show of the spring season. *coughCaptainEarthcough*

Artemis (Otaku Lounge)

44445328

Thank you to everyone who sent in ballots this week!

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Spring. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Pretty saddening to not see Mekakucity Actors make the list for its end nor even Nobunaga the Fool.

    Oh well, I for one enjoyed Mekaku, was a fun ride.

    • It’s funny you mention that because one guy put Nobunaga the Fool at #1 this week and actually made a comment about it that I just didn’t use this week

  2. I’m curious what the overlap between people who were putting Mushishi and Ping Pong 1/2 each week and people who voted for Chaika this week was. I get the feeling there were a lot of people who had Chaika hanging out at the bottom of their ballot or just off it and when two spots were suddenly freed up it jumped 8 spots.

    Also sad to see I’m the only one who put Love Live 1st this week. I don’t know what happened to the other three people who did the same last week but I’m not sure how the ending could have moved it down the list of anybody who was already on board with the show.

Leave a Reply

