Anime Power Rankings: Summer 2014 Predictions

smc11

The Summer 2014 season has arrived! A new slate of shows each with ample opportunities to make their way into the APR top 5 spotlight. Here are my quick thoughts on how each show from this season will favor in the coming weeks. This list includes shows that will be eligible for APR based on whether or not they will be subbed (and don’t take this as a final list of shows that will be eligible on APR during the Summer season).

Akame ga Kill!

Akame ga Kill is one of the headliners this Summer season. From what I’ve been hearing through the grapevine this show is full of blood, violence, boobs, assassins, and everything else in between. The PV gives us a lot of that and shrouds us in a cloud of mystery as to what is really going to happen later on down the road. I have a feeling this show will be making many appearances in APR this coming season. With White Fox finishing Gochiusa, it will be interesting to see how they approach this sudden contrast in themes from moe, to something much darker.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: On the Cusp

 

Aldnoah Zero 

A-1 Pictures is presenting us a mecha anime set in 1972. While that premise alone piques my curiosity, it’s the PV that  makes me a bit worried for it’s success on APR. The female character dressed in a royal gown and mech combat sprinkled in leads me to believe there will be some political aspects to this show much in the same vein as Code Geass. But the showing of characters in high school uniforms also makes me think that it may stray too far off the big picture, focus too much on their individual lives, and have the show possibly walking the thin line into Guilty Crown territory. It also doesn’t help it’s case that Captain Earth hasn’t faired all too well on APR during the Spring season.

Highest ranking: On the cusp

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Ao Haru Ride

Shoujo romance shows have never really done well on APR. And I don’t believe that Ao Haru Ride is going to change that. The PV leaves much to be desired but it definitely looks to be your generic shoujo romance show.

Highest ranking: On the cusp (maybe)

Lowest ranking: At least one vote every week because I will most likely put it in my top 5 week in and week out

 

Bakumatsu Rock

Bakumatsu Rock looks to be one of the more unique shows this forthcoming season. It’s set in a 19th century Japan, but it’s filled with rock n’ roll, electric guitars, and people rebelling against the government because they’re using other music to brainwash their people. I’m at a lose for words and because of that the show could either be a sleeper hit, or a colossal failure. At the very least, this is a show to keep an eye on week to week.

Highest ranking: On the cusp

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Barakamon

 This show looks like your everyday SOL comedy show. While the premise is a bit different from most SOL shows, I still believe this will have some success on APR. It may not be on APR every week, but I could see it sneaking its way into the top 5 if the comedy is done well.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal

This is without a doubt the most anticipated series of the Summer 2014 season. Although high expectations comes at a price. Sailor Moon: Crystal was originally planned to air last year during the Summer 2013 season, but was delayed multiple times. With promises of sticking true to the original manga, and early skepticism of the character designs, the show could fall victim to the same fate as some of the early episodes of Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders. I can’t say with complete confidence that Sailor Moon: Crystal will do poorly on APR (because I truly believe it will do well), but I also can’t guarantee it won’t do poorly at times.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: On the Cusp

 

DRAMAtical Murder

Anime like DRAMAtical Murder are becoming a regular thing these days. MC gets put into a video game where he has to fight other people because it will somehow make the real world better in some regard. This sort of show is becoming the new “imouto shows” of yesteryear and everyone wants a slice of the pie. I’m not sure it will do incredibly well on APR, but it isn’t Sword Art Online so it has that going for it.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Fate /kaleid liner Prisma Illya 2wei!

The second season to a show I didn’t think did that well commercially but here we are with another installment of “Type-Moon Characters as Magical Girls: The Animation”. I watched the first three episodes of the first season because I felt I had some moral obligation to do so when I was writing for my previous blog. I can’t really say much on the context of the show itself so I’ll throw in what I know from my short experience it: magical girls, Type-Moon references, lolis, BROWN lolis, and cool action sequences. Was that enough to spark your interest? No? Ok, moving on then.

Highest ranking: On the cusp (maybe)

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Free! Eternal Summer

This is the story all about how KyoAni got flip-turned upside down, and I’d like to take a minute just sit right there, I’ll tell you how Free became a second season on air. (That’s about as far as I got with making a Free/Fresh Prince of Bel-Air reference). Free was originally some joke video that KyoAni put out on the internet that eventually became wildly popular and turned into an anime series. And now here we are with a second season on the horizon. While I’m not so much the “target audience” for this show, I still enjoyed it and am kind of looking forward to how the second season will turn out. I hope it has as awesome of an ED as the first season did.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita

Bringing it back to “shows that want a slice of the [insert show type/genre here] pie”, we have another idol show. But these are local idols who aren’t super popular and waste TAX PAYERS HARD EARNED MONEY playing local live shows. I would be surprised if this show takes off in any way, shape, or form.

Highest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

Our first romcom of the season. There’s not much to say on this show really. Romcoms are usually the same formula repeated over and over again. What’s really going to determine if this show has any lasting appeal on APR is, well, if the comedy is funny at all or if the main couple is interesting in any regard. But you don’t need me to tell you that. While I can see myself voting for this on APR if the show holds up, I can’t say the same thing for you, the voters.

Highest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Glasslip

New P.A. Works anime that has characters that look exactly like every P.A. Works character which leads me to believe that it will be something similar to it. Only difference is the characters are all into glass blowing which is not something you see every day in anime. I’m going to go ahead and give this the APR seal of approval because all of you out there just love everything this studio puts out.

Highest ranking:APR top 5

Lowest ranking:On the cusp

 

Hanamonogatari

Yes, I will be including Hanamonogatari into APR even though it is only airing for 5 episodes. It would be criminal of me not to. Let’s be honest, why wouldn’t I include a whole new segment to the Monogatari series that is entirely based around the story of Kanbaru? It’s going to be good and I know all of you out there will probably enjoy it just as much as I’m going to.

Highest ranking:APR top 5

Lowest ranking:On the Cusp

 

Hanayamata

In order to counterbalance the emotional damage that Madhouse has put not only it’s audience but it’s animators/writers through with the finale of the Chimera Ant arc in Hunter x Hunter, they’ve decided to make a slice of life show with a full female cast. In situations like these, the term “moe” tends to be thrown around. And in Hanayamata’s case, I would presume that to be an accurate word to pin on it.

Highest ranking:On the Cusp

Lowest ranking:Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Jinsei

More moe shows only this time the main characters sit around at school and solve the student’s problems. They also all work for the school newspaper. I’m having a hard time not comparing this show to Love Lab and that show was pretty much garbage to begin with.

Highest ranking:Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking:Receiving no votes

 

Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus

I know absolutely nothing, and I mean NOTHING, about the Black Butler series. I know that a lot of people over here in the West love the series and cosplay as characters from the series all the time, but that doesn’t really pertain to APR. So I’m essentially guessing at this point as to how it will do.

Highest ranking:Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking:Receiving no votes

 

Love Stage

I think this is the first yaoi/shounen ai series we have had in quite some time. From the looks of it it’s a bunch of dudes who are really into mahou shoujos and that eventually leads to two of them falling for each other? Not really my cup of tea, but I know some of you out there are into that sort of thing so I think it will get votes here and there.

Highest ranking:Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking:Receiving no votes

 

Majimoji Rurumo

A comedy show where some guy who has an unhealthy obsession with girls and gets put into a contract with a witch/demon girl because he read a book from his school. Now he either has to make 666 wishes with her so said demon girl can become a witch again but for each wish he makes he shortens his life span. Not buying too much into this show.

Highest ranking:Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking:Receiving no votes

 

Momo Kyun Sword

Momo Kyun Sword is going to flop. It looks to be the same formula that Oda Nobuna no Yabou used but with folklore characters instead of actual figures from Japanese history. This will more than likely be one of the lowest ranked shows of the season.

Highest Ranking and Lowest Ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Nobunaga Concerto

Dear lord this show looks awful. Another damn show about Nobunaga but this time we’ve added time travel into the equation.

Highest and Lowest Ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Persona 4 The Golden Animation

Not Persona 4 Golden: The Animation but Persona 4 The Golden Animation. Persona 4 is one of those JRPGs that has always been regarded as one of the best out there. Or so I’ve been told. I’ve played bits and pieces of it over the past few years but never actually finished, nor did I watch the first season of the Persona 4 anime. I can say that he story has always been well received so I expect to see this frequently in the APR top ten.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: Out of the top ten, but still receiving votes

 

RAIL WARS!

Like Bakumatsu Rock, we have another unique show that I can’t quite wrap my head around. A bunch of high school students want to grow up and work on the railways of Japan because in this world Japan never privatized their railway systems. Our MC is assigned as a trainee on the Railways Security Force with “full of odd characters” which gives me the feel of Working! but instead of a restaurant they are on trains all day. The only thing that comes to mind when thinking about this show is “meh”.\

Highest ranking: On the cusp (maybe)

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

RE:Hamatora

I never watched Hamatora during the Winter season this year but every time I watch PVs of the show I get K vibes from it which doesn’t make me want to watch the series at all. The whole idea of only certain people having “special powers” and using them at their own discretion feels cut and dry and something we’ve seen time and time again. But I’ll give Hamatora the benefit of the doubt this time.

Highest ranking: On the Cusp

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Rokujoma no Shinryakusa!?

Generic comedy MC decides to live in a dirt cheap apartment only to realize he lives with a cute ghost girl, magical girls, and other oddball female characters. This show gives me a Haiyore! Nyaruko-san vibe and that show didn’t really favor too well on APR back in the day. I don’t see much success coming from this show.

Highest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Sabagebu!

I watched the pre-air for this and all I have to say is no. Hell no. This looks so bad and I’m not even talking about the video quality for it.

Highest ranking: Out of the top ten, but still receiving votes (maybe)

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance

The premise to the show initially is enough to make me want to check it out, but the fact that it’s going to start out with a “Oh I caught you peeping in on me now you have to take responsibility for it” situation pretty much kills it for me. I only hope that the show does something interesting with this prestigious academy where students from “noble families” learn to make contracts with spirits.

Highest ranking: Out of the top ten, but still receiving votes

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Sengoku Basara Judge End

It’s more Sengoku Basara. If you’ve seen the series before (which I haven’t) then you know what you’re getting yourself into.

Highest and Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Shirogane no Ishi: Argevollen

A mecha show where two nations have been fighting one another for years with zero progress because a wall stands in their way and that somehow halts all progress in their attempt to destroy the other side. It’s a mecha anime that will more than likely have some political jargon thrown in to stir the pot a bit and might make things interesting. Wait, it’s being done by Xebec and directed by the guy who made Bodacious Space Pirates and LaGrange? Ok maybe it won’t be that interesting.

Highest ranking: Out of the top ten, but still receiving votes (maybe)

Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Shounen Hollywood-Holly Stage for 49-

An idol show with only boys in it? Come on Japan. You can’t just throw something like this out there after the phenomenon that was Love Live and expect it to actually sell and be successful.

Highest and Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes

 

Space Dandy 2

I watched the first few episodes of Space Dandy before putting the show on hold and not going back to it because I felt it faltered a bit. It’s not a terrible show by any means but it’s plagued by the concept of “having too many cooks in the kitchen” and it worries me that seasons two may fall victim to it as well. It’s a creative show and it’s presence on APR will be a consistent one.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: On the cusp

 

Sword Art Online 2

Nope. No. Hell no.

Highest and Lowest ranking: Receiving no votes because all of you should know better

 

Tokyo ESP

I feel very conflicted about this show. The author for the manga wrote Ga-Rei and also created Ga-Rei Zero and I love both those series. However it is Xebec and I despise that studio oh so much so I’m torn right now on how I should feel about this show. I’ll trust you this time Xebec, but if you fuck this up I won’t give you a second chance in the future.

Highest ranking: On the cusp

Lowest ranking: Out of the top 10, but still receiving votes

 

Tokyo Ghoul

Judging by the PV and what I’ve read about the series this show is more than likely going to be a black screen from all the censorship of the violence. Regardless of that this is going to be one of the coolest shows of the season. A group of “ghouls” are running wild through out Tokyo devouring humans and it’s up to two college students to instill hope for everyone around them. Something tells me this show will be the talk of the Summer season.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: On the cusp

 

Zankyou no Terror

This show has all the qualities of being one of the best shows of the season. And by “qualities’ I mean Shinichiro Watanabe is directing it and Yoko Kanno is in charge of the music so this can only end up being the best thing ever, right? Outside of those two being involved the actual premise is engaging giving me an Eden of the East vibe and that alone is something to look forward to.

Highest ranking: APR top 5

Lowest ranking: On the cusp

Outside of those shows airing this Summer there are a handful of shorts to keep an eye on. Depending on the length of each series and whether or not they will be subbed will determine if they are put on APR or not.

About lerxst2112

Former blog writer/podcast personality for Anime Afterlife Podcast and Desu Ex Machina and head writer for The Anime Kid. I've been watching anime consistently for 4 years now and see no end in sight. I love anything from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, to Love Live, to Precure, and everything else in between. I also partake in video games, Magic: The Gathering, and sports (primarily American Football). I started writing back in 2011 when my friends over at Anime Afterlife Podcast decided to bring me on as a writer and podcast host. But once things started to fall apart there, I was brought on as a writer for Desu Ex Machina. But my time there ended and I decided to take a break from blogging to not only relax from blogging for a while, but to also sort out my personal life as well. Now I'm getting the itch to write again, and so The Anime Kid was born.

Posted on July 5, 2014, in Anime Power Rankings, Summer. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. At least based on the current slate of whats aired so far, I will be shocked if Shonen Hollywood gets no votes or if Aldnoah.Zero isnt a mainstay on the apr top 5, that first episode was, wow, mecha holy trinity worthy.

    • I haven’t watched a single episode of the Summer season yet. I’m basing all this on what I’ve read about each series and what I’ve seen from the PVs. I’m sure once I dive into these first episodes my opinions will change

  1. Pingback: Anime Power Rankings: Summer 2014 Week 1 |

Leave a Reply

